Junior Cycle

The Junior Cycle curriculum at The High School is delivered in Forms 1, 2, and 3.  All pupils attend classes in the following subjects:

English; Irish; Mathematics; History; Geography; General Science; Religious Education; Physical Education; and Social, Personal, and Health Education (SPHE).

The first eight of the above subjects will be assessed in Forms 2 and 3.  Two further subjects are chosen and studied until the end of Form 3, one from each of the following option groups: 

Group A  -  Art, Craft, and Design; Business Studies; Classical Studies; French; Home Economics; Materials Technology (Wood); and Music.           

Group B  -  Art, Craft, and Design; Business Studies; French; German; and Technical Graphics.

The new Junior Cycle will place the pupil at the centre of the learning process.  It allows for new ways of learning and a broader range of skills to be properly assessed. One major change in the new Junior Cycle is the introduction of Classroom Based Assessments (CBAs). CBAs provide pupils with opportunities to demonstrate their learning and skills in ways not possible in a pen-and-paper examination, for example, their verbal communication and investigation skills. CBAs will be undertaken in most subjects and will be facilitated by the classroom teacher. They will be undertaken during a defined time period within normal class contact time according to a national time frame. Pupils will generally complete one set of CBAs in Form 2 and one set in Form 3 (with the exception of Gaeilge which features both CBAs in Form 3).

The enclosed document outlines the windows for completion of the CBAs for the academic year 2019-20 and highlights some important points. Pupils must submit their own individual work for their CBA. They may be permitted to work in groups but the final work submitted must be their own which will be overseen by their teacher. Once the second CBA is completed in Form 3 pupils will complete a written Assessment Task (AT). The AT, set by the National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA), is undertaken during normal class time and is marked by the State Examinations Commission (SEC). The Assessment Task is worth 10% of the overall mark in the case of most subjects. At the end of Form 3 pupils will sit the State Examinations in all subjects commencing on Wednesday 3 June 2020. The outcome of the CBA process will be reported in the Junior Cycle Profile of Achievement (JCPA).

Ms V B Connolly
Deputy Principal

CBA dates for Form 3, 2019-20

Subject

Window for completion

 

English

 

Monday 18th November - Friday 22nd November

Monday 25th November – Friday 29th November

Monday 2nd December - Friday 6th December

 

Business

 

Monday 2nd December - Friday 6th December

Monday 9th December - Friday 13th December

Monday 16th December - Friday 20th December

Science

Monday 6th January - Friday 10th January

Monday 13th January - Friday 17th January

Monday 20th January – Friday 24th January

 

Modern Foreign Languages (MFL)

 

Monday 25th November - Friday 29th November

Monday 2nd December - Friday 6th December

Monday 9th December – Friday 13th December

 

Visual Art

 

Mon 9th September – Friday 29th November

 

Gaeilge

 

CBA1

Monday 7th October - Friday 11th October

Monday 14th October – Friday 18th October

Monday 21st October – Friday 25th October

CBA 2

Monday 13th January - Friday 17th January

Monday 20th January – Friday 24th January

Monday 27th January - Friday 31st January

Points to note:

  • The majority of subjects engage with Classroom Based Assessments (CBAs) in Forms 2 and 3. The CBA is marked by subject teachers.
  • Most subjects have a 3-4 week window to complete their CBA. The practical subjects have a longer window to complete their CBA.
  • Gaeilge have both CBA 1 and CBA 2 in Form 3.
  • The Assessment Task (AT) is administered during class time in Form 3. It is marked by the State Examinations Commission (SEC).

CBA dates for Form 2, 2019-20

Subject

Window for completion  

 

English

 

Monday 27th April – Friday 1st May

Monday 4th May – Friday 8th May

Monday 11th May– Friday 15th May

 

Business

 

Monday 2nd March– Friday 6th March

Monday 9th March– Friday 13th March

Monday 16th March– Friday 20th March

Monday 23rd March – Friday 27th March

 

Science

 

Monday 9th March– Friday 13th March

Monday 16th March– Friday 20th March

Monday 23rd March– Friday 27th March

 

Modern Foreign Languages (MFL)

 

Monday 20th January– Friday 24th January

Monday 27th January– Friday 31st January

Monday 3rd February– Friday 7th February

 

Visual Art

 

Monday 6th January – Friday 15th May

 

Mathematics

 

Monday 24th February – Friday 28th February

Monday 2nd March – Friday 6th March

Monday 9th March – Friday 13th March

 

History

 

Monday 16th March– Friday 20th March

Monday 23rd March– Friday 27th March

Monday 30 March– Friday 3rd April

 

Geography

 

Monday 24th February – Friday 28th February

Monday 2nd March – Friday 6th March

Monday 9th March – Friday 13th March

 

Music

 

Concludes Friday 15th May

 

Home Economics

 

Monday 6th January – Friday 20th March

Physical Education

Monday 30th September – Friday 25th October